List Of Universities in Orissa (Deemed,Private and State University ) Fees and result 2020

Odisha (formerly Orissa), an eastern Indian state on the Bay of Bengal, is known for its tribal cultures and its many ancient Hindu temples. The capital of the state is Bhubaneswar. Universities in Orissa(Odisha) provide courses in fields like Science, Arts, and Commerce. 

The following are the lists of Universities in Orissa. All Universities in Orissa are divided into area wise. To view a university in a particular region click on the link of that region.

Universities in Orissa (Deemed, Private and State University )

Name of University( Admission Info) Location FEES Result

All India Institute of Medical Sciences – AIIMS Bhubaneswar


Berhampur University

Berhampur Yes Yes

Biju Patnaik University of Technology – BPUT

Rourkela Yes Yes

Birla Global University – BGU

Bhubaneswar Yes No
Central University of Orissa – CUO
Koraput Yes No

Centurion University of Technology and Management – CUTM

Gajapati Yes No

Fakir Mohan University

Balasore Yes Yes

Gangadhar Meher University – GMU

Sambalpur Yes Yes

Indian Institute of Management – IIM Sambalpur


Indian Institute of Technology – IIT Bhubaneswar


International Institute of Information Technology – IIIT Bhubaneswar

Bhubaneswar No No

Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology – KIIT

Bhubaneswar Yes No

Kalinga Institute of Social Sciences – KISS


Khallikote University

Ganjam Yes No

National Institute of Technology – NIT Rourkela


National Law University – NLU Odisha

Cuttack Yes No

North Orissa University

Baripada Yes No

Odisha State Open University – OSOU


Orissa University of Agriculture and Technology – OUAT

Bhubaneswar Yes No

Rama Devi Women’s University – Rama Devi Women’s Colleges

Bhubaneswar Yes No

Ravenshaw University

Cuttack Yes No

Sambalpur University

Sambalpur Yes No

Shri Jagannath Sanskrit Vishvavidyalaya


Siksha ‘O’ Anusandhan (Deemed to be University)

Bhubaneswar Yes No

Sri Sri University – SSU

Cuttack Yes No

Utkal University

Bhubaneswar Yes No

Utkal University of Culture – UUC

Bhubaneswar Yes No

Vedanta University


Veer Surendra Sai Institute of Medical Sciences and Research – VSS Medical Colleges


Veer Surendra Sai University of Technology – University Colleges of Engineering

Sambalpur Yes No
Xavier University Bhubaneswar – XUB Bhubaneswar Yes No

Apart from regular courses technical and professional courses like Fashion designing, Management, Law, Medical engineering, Medical Laboratory Technology, surgical technology,  Computer Applications, Hotel Management, Anthropology, Medical Imaging Technology and many more.

Postgraduate diplomas are provided by various universities in Orissa such as P.G Diploma in Mushroom technology, P.G Diploma in Rural Biotechnology and P.G Diploma in Biodiversity and Bioresource management, One who wants to get into media field can go for M.A in Mass Communication.

The Odisha Government is going ahead to clear all the pending proposals to set up private universities very soon. In 1960, a decision was taken to establish an Agricultural University in Orissa in the pattern of the Land Grant Colleges of USA.

Deemed Universities in Orissa

Distance University in Orissa

Frequently asked questions:

Q. Can I get direct admission in BHU?

Ans. No, you have to go through entrance exam.

Q. Is Distance B.Ed is valid?

Ans. No, it is not valid for teaching jobs. It is only an academic degree.

Q. Is Distance Education, equal to regular?

Ans. Yes, distance learning degree is as same a regular degree. Distance learning is made for those who belong to professional.

Q. Which is the better MBA or PGDM?

Ans. Both MBA and PGDM courses are regarded as having equal value when it comes to career prospects. But a PGDM is considered to be as diploma and MBA is counted as a degree.

Q. How can I get admission to B.Tech in BHU?

Ans. Admission to BTech program is through the Joint Entrance Examination (JEE). The JEE is conducted by National Testing Agency in India.

Q. Can Arts students do an MBA?

Ans. Yes, MBA is a post-graduate program that is not limited to any single stream.

Q. What is the difference between LLB and BALLB?

Ans. LLB is 3 years law program and it gives single degree. While BALLB is 5 years Arts cum law program and it gives dual degree.

Q. What is the duration of the BSc Agriculture course?

Ans. BSc Agriculture is a 4 years degree course.

 Madhya Pradesh